Over 200 rural schools throughout New Zealand have received a financial surprise thanks to their local farmers.

Schools from as far south Otago and many throughout the central North Island will get much needed money for resources such as books and sports equipment. Gladstone School in Wairarapa was one of the schools to receive some of the over $4300 distributed to schools from the Hatuma Growing Minds Fund.

Hatuma is New Zealand’s leading of dicalcic phosphate and director of marketing and sales Aaron Topp says the fund is well received by rural schools.

In just three years over $15,000 has been distributed to rural schools.

“Like our farmer customers, we too live in a rural community, so we know that every cent counts for these schools, which are predominantly small and very reliant on financial support. What makes this fund unique is the significant number of schools that benefit thanks to the many farmers that nominate recipient schools,” Mr Topp says.

Gladstone principal Margaret Hyslop says the financial support was welcomed and was a nice little surprise. “We didn’t have any idea that our local farmers had nominated the school, so it’s great that we can put this money to good use,” Ms Hyslop said.

Hatuma recognises rural primary schools as a national treasure and farmers nominate a rural school and in return Hatuma donates 20c per tonne of their dicalcic phosphate order to the nominated school.
“Rural primary schools are the centre of our country communities.

“They provide a unique education for rural children where their classmates are often their siblings and they’re learning with kids of all ages.

“With traditional funding for rural schools lessening, we feel rural businesses have a role to play to help our schools survive, as they are the lifeblood of country communities and will only prosper with the support of their community.

“We want to show our support for the next generation of rural New Zealanders. It costs our customers nothing, it’s Hatuma’s way of giving back,” he says.

Some of the 200 schools that received funds include Five Forks Primary (Otago), Ohakune Primary, Mangaraorapa Primary (Central Hawke’s Bay), Akitio Primary (Tararua), Norsewood School (CHB), Omarama Primary (Otago), Mataroa Primary (Taihape), Kakatahi Primary (Wanganui), Porangahau Primary (CHB) and Gladstone Primary (Wairarapa).

For more information please contact Aaron Topp 0274 425 522

Leave a Reply